narcis VIP
Total posts: 138
16 Jun 2016 19:59

Hi there,

I try to set this sql query in a multiselect field in order to get only the two first words at the begining of the sentence:

SELECT SUBSTRING_INDEX(title , ' ', 2 ) AS text FROM #__js_res_record AS r WHERE r.section_id IN(2,9) AND r.user_id != [USER_ID]

Everything seems fine on the frontend. The field displays only the two first words in values as expected. For example, instead of "Article Alpha: Computing science courses" i get "Article Alpha:". But when i select one value and save the record, i get a 500 error page.

I forgot something ?

Help please.

Last Modified: 22 Jun 2016

Sergey
Total posts: 13,748
17 Jun 2016 15:25

The render of values in article is taken from JSON not with query. You can always use php substr() function in output template to trim titles.

narcis VIP
18 Jun 2016 11:25

Hi,

Sergey The render of values in article is taken from JSON not with query

Excuse me in advance because i'm not a developer, but are u talking about any query or just SUBSTRING query ? Indeed, in some multiselect field, i applied a sql query before to retrieve entire article value, and record was saved as well.

If it's because of SUBSTRING query, is there some similar sql query i can use ?

Regards.

Sergey
21 Jun 2016 05:25

Look into this file components/com_cobalt/fields/multilevelselect/tmpl/output/default.php. this is uotput template. You can create copy of it with any other name and then select it as output template in field parameters.

there is a line 19

$level = JText::_($level);

You can change it to

$level = substr(JText::_($level), 0, 3);

narcis VIP
21 Jun 2016 15:39

Hi Sergey,

I found the file components/com_cobalt/fields/multilevelselect/tmpl/output/default.php

I copied it, and i renamed it. Then, i selected it in the field paramaters (as u said).