Jeff VIP
Total posts: 745
01 Oct 2013 06:44

Hi,

After posting a request here, I'm happy to share my new geo field input template as a gift to the Cobalt community

https://s3.amazonaws.com/adwsfiles/zip/2013-10/geocomplete.zip

It uses the jQuery Geocoding and Places Autocomplete Plugin which you can find here: http://ubilabs.github.io/geocomplete/

Bear in mind that I am not a programmer and that it has been customized to my needs. I also commented out some code which I didn't need. There is no map display here neither.

Examples

After clicking on Show full address

Instructions

1. Copy/extract the zip file to /components/com_cobalt/fields/geo/tmpl/input (I have included the normal and minified versions of geocomplete.js)

2. Select the geocomplete template in the geo field settings

3. Done!

Issues/improvements

There are some issues though which I couldn't solve

1. The Google API and the geocomplete.js are included with each geo field. If you have multiple geo fields it still works but the API and js will be called multiple times, which according to Google might give some unpredictable results.

2. I would like to have a "Detect my location button" but I don't know if that's possible.

If you wish to improve the code, just add your modified files here and share it with us.

Best regards,

Jeff

Last Modified: 02 Mar 2014

Comments have been disabled for this article and works only in read only mode.

Sergey
Total posts: 13,748
01 Oct 2013 07:10

I cannot find this file. PLease reupload.

Sergey
01 Oct 2013 07:45
  1. next version places will be loaded by deafult you will not need this
  1. Instead of this

You may use PHP

JFactory::getDocument()->addScript(JURI::root(TRUE) . "/components/com_cobalt/fields/geo/tmpl/input/jquery.geocomplete.min.js")

Then it will be added only once into

And i failed test. After I save record marker gets away. Or is it intended without markers and positions?