21 Feb 2018 14:47

Hi there, I'm new to Cobalt 8, but already I am liking it a lot.

I'm having an issue with copying templates. I have been following the online guide http://docs.mintjoomla.com/en/cobalt/custom-templates-general When I go into the Template Manager, make a copy of the blog template in a Section (and give it a new name), I then go back and edit the Section by selecting the new template. Now when I go into the front end, it looks different to before. This is confirmed when I go back into the Section and open the blog template, I can see that there are a different set of options that have been selected. How can this happen by simply making a copy via the Template Manager? Is there some kind of corruption taking place?

Secondly, perhaps you can advise where the template files are located on my computer so that I can perhaps edit these via an editor (I am using a local installation using an XAMPP server).

Many thanks, Bob

Last Modified: 04 Mar 2018

Giorgi625 VIP
Total posts: 655
21 Feb 2018 15:23

Here you can find locations of templates http://docs.mintjoomla.com/en/cobalt/custom-templates-general#4-find-your-template-files

Cobalt is not easy extension like K2 or Zoo and it needs time to learn, it may take some weeks to learn most features, but it cost time which it needs to get in, because it is much powerfull. I was also like you when I started using it.

About template parameter changes. So there are some different tempaltes in list view so maybe you ahve copied for example blog template but before there was set default template? At first just set all templates one by one for list view to see how looks each one, and then decide which one do you want to copy and then edit it. If you want to create custom templates read everything in documentation, it will help you much.

pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,837
21 Feb 2018 15:56