15 Apr 2013 02:53

Hello.

I have a -so I hope- simple question, that I haven't been able to figure out myself.

I want to create a dropdown menu in my site to manage courses. I will fight that battle when I get there. First, I need to figure out how to organize the whole thing.

I can think of two approaches, the first is:

section1: online courses

cat1: informatic

cat2: cad/multimedia

cat3: web stuff....

section2: presencial courses

cat1: ....

cat2: ...

cat3: ...

The second approach would be to create just a section for courses, then make the rest of the tree with categories.

I have tried either way, and I can't figure, either way, how to make the child elements appear in the menu. Only the top elements are shown.

I am new to the whole joomla ecosystem, so it might very well be a simple thing that I have overlooked. I have several sections, and inside of them I have plelty of categories that I would like to be shown as children of the main sections in a menu.

I have defined the a courses menu, and I have created as many elements are sections, each one of them with the type cobalt8->list of section articles. I am toying with the settings of those menus,. including those in the dropdown menu section. But they seem to do nothing at all. Only the links to the sections work (they work fine and they take me to the page section, where I can see the nodes that I have created for the section and its children categories).

There's not much documentation that I can find, so pointers to some tutorial on this or whatever are welcome.

Thank you beforehand for any help :)

Last Modified: 02 Mar 2014

Sergey
Total posts: 13,748
15 Apr 2013 04:05
  1. I would definitely recommend you to use one section for all your courses.

2. To create link in menu to category, just copy it in category index and add menu element "External link"

3. You can whats quickstart video tutorial

15 Apr 2013 17:33

I have discovered one thing.

I can do -mostly- what I want this way.