10 Apr 2013 17:26

Hi there :)

I am new to cobalt (and to joomla altogether, by the way). I have been looking ccks for joomla the last few weeks, and finally landed here. None of them seem really capable of achieving a simple feature like this.

I am building a site with info about courses of many kinds, and all I need is to be able to list them grouped by categories, so it looks something like this:

CATEGORY1

Course1 X hours Y Price

Course2 X hours Y Price

CATEGORY2

Course1 X hours Y Price

Course2 X hours Y Price

CATEGORY3

Course1 X hours Y Price

Course2 X hours Y Price

I can list all of them this way, but that's no good for me:

Course1 X hours Y Price categoryfoo

Course2 X hours Y Price categorybar

Before wasting more hours on this, is this possible at all with cobalt or am I wasting my time?

Thanks beforehand for your help :)

Last Modified: 02 Mar 2014

Tags Cobalt 9

Sergey
Total posts: 13,748
11 Apr 2013 05:15

it is possible but there is no parameters for that. But you can do it in custom template. It is a very small PHP code to reorder article by categories and then display in groups. But article list page have to display all articles in current category without page navigation.

You can set default article per page = 1000 and hide page limiter in any article list template.

pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,837
11 Apr 2013 12:42

@Jesús J. Guerrero Botella

Since you mentioned you are new to Joomla... you might also have a look at the CMS Drupal. Especially on its extension called "Views". AFAIK, it can sort and display records this way. Its all about configuration and parameters. But... its complex!

As far as Joomla is concerned, Cobalt CCK is the most powerful extension in this area. There is nothing like "Views" in the Joomla world. So, you have to look into Cobalt configuration and template features. This might include some PHP tweaks as Sergey already noted.

pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,837
06 Jun 2013 18:08