pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
08 May 2013 19:41

Found some issues with the following module layouts:

Default / General

  • Show Article items YES, max 5 items. But no articles are listed!?

parameter in module backend:


DropDownMenu

  • There is a bare, linked SectionName. But it does link to the frontpage. Shouldn´t it link to the section list? Or even better: Open the DropDown itself? The bootstrap SPLIT variant in a navbar is not user-friendly. Hard to know, that there are TWO different links.

  • very tiny arrow on the right. Only clicking that small arrow opens a submenu in Bootstrap style.

Suggestions:
Since BS menus require an item to open the dropmenu on click, I would suggest to:

A.) open menu on first SectionName, add SectionLink as extra item, maybe followed by separator

B.) use BS Buttongroup with Split. Left side is Link to Section, right side opens Dropdown

C.) Submenu drop direction. Could you add the different menu directions that are available in bootstrap? Otherwise submenus might get out of sight. There are left, right and up, AFAIK.

D.) Module Parameter: Show Section YES/NO. Not sure how to deal with that...? BS menu needs always a trigger link. So, YES is mandatory.


MooTree

  • Upper Section Name has no link to section list?!
  • Suggestion: default icons are way too small, and not suitable. Should be closed/open folders. Or simpler symbols. BS Icons?
  • Suggestion: jQuery replacement! Maybe keep MooTree as Alt layout? (i.e. see FuelUX Tree, there is also a BootstrapTree project, also found 2 Trees on Bootsnipp, or other jQuery plugins? Joomla JUI comes with jQuery TreeSelectMenu for MenuAssignment)

EDITs:

  • AJAX error was solved, removed my screenshots :)
  • added more screenshots for other layouts!
  • new text formatting, due to new Cobalt forum

Last Modified: 22 May 2017



Konstantin
Total posts: 1,113
19 Nov 2013 03:39

"Show records" was No


ngarasan VIP
Total posts: 181
19 Nov 2013 04:01

Oh! I must be stupid..

Btw, when I click the item links, it show me 404 error page..


Konstantin
Total posts: 1,113
19 Nov 2013 22:54

This fix will be tomorrow.


pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
23 Nov 2013 22:03

Sergey, please see the screenshots with tree menu. It does NOT "expand" and show the items.

Cobalt v. 8.425 - MooTree expand/collapse does work now.

(Heads-up: Please, add Records/Item display to other layouts, too.)


Konstantin
Total posts: 1,113
24 Nov 2013 23:40

Are you turn on display records in module settings.


pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
25 Nov 2013 00:54

Are you turn on display records in module settings.

1.) As Sergey mentioned above, the RECORDS parameter and display works ONLY on MooTree. This alt layout works. But it has NO EFFECT in Default, Dropdown or Select.

2.) Since Cobalt 8.425, there are new problems: - DropDown is NO dropdown. It simply lists the category names. Strange: The UL CSS class is a bootstrap "NAV NAV-LIST" style? And the LI classes are "DROPDOWN"?

In my opinion and bootstrap docs, those are 2 different things and styles! It seems they were mixed or are still unfinished. Please, consult the bootstrap docs for details. I would suggest:

  • 1 layout in bootstrap NAV LIST style.
  • 1 layout in DROPDOWN style. (as explained in my initial post)

3.) Select - Seems to have no AJAX functionality anymore

Actually no real issue for me. I already suggested to make it a SIMPLE PLAIN SELECT without this drill-down effect. But then, this should be an EXTRA layout:

  • SIMPLE SELECT
  • AJAX SELECT (with additional tab and parameter)

BTW, the current select reverts to option "select...". It does not keep the selection. I think this should be memorized or set via javascript.


pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
11 Feb 2014 10:29

Would be nice to have 1 layout in bootstrap NAV LIST style.

And 1 layout in DROPDOWN style. (as explained in my initial post)

Please, consult the bootstrap docs.

I think, I have seen a better bootstrap style menu on your temporary JED - Cobalt Directory DEMO. It also opens to the left side. Good idea to have this bootstrap orientation as a parameter. Did you create a special alt-layout/template?


pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
12 Sep 2014 00:27

The latest Cobalt/Category module versions seem to have a new bug. Maybe it is even an older bug, and that caused my previous complaint about missing "single Record items" display:

DropDown layout

  • single Record Items do not show up, if they are in the first level categories
  • I had to create a second level of sub-categories to show both: sub-categories and items on the same level

mj_cob_module_categories_dropdown_record_items

The 3 records belong to category "components"! They did not show up, until I created the "purple" marked sub-catgeories?!


Konstantin
Total posts: 1,113
12 Sep 2014 05:35

Fixed.


pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
13 Sep 2014 15:30

Konstantin Fixed.

Thanks! Looking forward to next thursday ;)

BTW, why does the section get a user icon as default?


Sergey
Total posts: 13,743
14 Sep 2014 01:05

pepperstreet BTW, why does the section get a user icon as default?

because it is personolized and this is icon set in personalization section.


pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
14 Sep 2014 23:50

Sergey personolized and this is icon set in personalization section

You mean, it should change or disappear if "Personalization" is OFF? I tried that, but the user icon is always there?!


Sergey
Total posts: 13,743
15 Sep 2014 01:12

Yes, it is always there. I can see. At least you can change it in personalization. Or create alternative layout for module.

I know that parameter would be good, but my plan is to refactor this module. I do not want to change anything there in Cobalt 8.


pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
15 Sep 2014 11:23

Sergey this is icon set in personalization section

Stupid me! Yes, totally missed that big icon chooser ;) :D


pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
18 Sep 2014 15:40

pepperstreet * single Record Items do not show up, if they are in the first level categories * I had to create a second level of sub-categories to show both: sub-categories and items on the same level

Fixed. Works!

Issue with empty catgeories

Tested with DropDown style. General parameter Empty Categories seems not to work:

  • I can still see empty 1st level categories (no items or subcategories included).
  • Also tested with empty deeper levels. They are also displayed.

Sergey
Total posts: 13,743
19 Sep 2014 01:19

All issues with only DropDown template?


pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
19 Sep 2014 13:45

Sergey All issues with only DropDown template?

Checked twice...

  • Empty categories issue in DropDown style only.

pepperstreet VIP
Total posts: 3,834
19 Sep 2014 17:36

MooTree

  • Composite title shows HTML markup
    composite_title_HTML_displayed

  • Section name: Click on open/close icon results in Ajax error. No more categories displayed, only 1 record item from subcategory "Modules". Browser console shows:
    Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 500 (Internal Server Error)
    URL: MyDomain.de/index.php?option=com_cobalt& task=ajax.category_childs&tmpl=component

section_close_reopen_no_subcategories


Konstantin
Total posts: 1,113
23 Sep 2014 09:30

pepperstreet

  • Section name: Click on open/close icon results in Ajax error. No more categories displayed, only 1 record item from subcategory "Modules". Browser console shows:

    Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 500 (Internal Server Error)

    URL: MyDomain.de/index.php?option=com_cobalt& task=ajax.category_childs&tmpl=component

  • fixed.

    pepperstreet Composite title shows HTML markup

    Can't be fixed, core joomla mootree library do that.


    pepperstreet VIP
    Total posts: 3,834
    23 Sep 2014 21:42

    Konstantin fixed.

    Thank you!

    pepperstreet Composite title shows HTML markup

    Can't be fixed, core joomla mootree library do that.

    I see.

    Powered by Cobalt